Humans|​Machines|​Together

Hybrid Societies:
Humans interacting with embodied digital technologies

What is required to enable people to move in concert with robots, highly automated vehicles or virtual avatars, for example, without friction as with other people?

And how must technology be designed to meet these requirements?

Fundamental scientific research into these questions is crucial because in hybrid societies we share public spaces with increasingly autonomous machines

Prof. Georg Jahn

In order for interactions in hybrid societies to be effective and similarly smooth, human capabilities and technological functionalities must be analyzed and harmonized in novel ways.

Prof. Ulrike Thomas

Coordinating our movements with fellow humans is relatively smooth.

In order for interactions in hybrid societies to be effective and similarly smooth, human capabilities and technological functionalities must be analyzed and harmonized in novel ways.

Research into hybrid societies thus contributes to aligning the use of embodied digital technologies in public spaces according to human needs and skills and to advancing the technological innovations required for this.

SHAPING THE INTERACTION BETWEEN PEOPLE AND MACHINES

Autonomous vehicles, teleoperated and autonomously acting robots, drones, intelligent prostheses – all examples of embodied digital technologies. They have more and more functions and can take on an increasing number of tasks. We will encounter them in more places and in different forms. They interact with humans and thus – together with them – form hybrid societies.

SHAPING THE INTERACTION BETWEEN PEOPLE AND MACHINES

The research center “Hybrid Societies” is investigating how spontaneous encounters between people and intelligent technologies in public spaces can run smoothly and coordinated. The core issue is to determine what is necessary to allow people and machines to coordinate their activities and movements in a foresighted manner when they meet, for example, in a park or on the street. What is required to enable people to move in concert with robots, highly automated vehicles or virtual avatars, for example, without friction as with other people? And how must technology be designed to meet these requirements? Fundamental scientific research into these questions is crucial because in hybrid societies we share public spaces with increasingly autonomous machines.

SHAPING THE INTERACTION BETWEEN PEOPLE AND MACHINES

In order to address the yet unsolved challenges and to shape the coexistence of humans and machines in public spaces, it is necessary for a large number of disciplines, from psychology and engineering sciences to mathematics and computer science to the social sciences and humanities, to combine their strengths. The Collaborative Research Centre “Hybrid Societies: Interacting with Embodied Digital Technologies” at Chemnitz University of Technology is funded by the German Research Foundation as a Collaborative Research Centre from 2020 to 2023. An international group of scientists studies the conditions for successful coordination between humans and machines in public spaces. The Collaborative Research Centre Hybrid Societies works in four fields: Sensor and motor capabilities, artificial bodies, shared environments, and intentionality in hybrid societies.

Events and Communication

Lesung und Thought-Controlled Music Performance im Gunzenhauser

Mensch, Maschine und die Gesellschaft der Zukunft Themenabend über digitale Technologien im Alltag: Sonderforschungsbereich Hybrid Societies bringt am 10. November 2021 ab 18.30 Uhr im Museum Gunzenhauser Science-Fiction-Autorin Theresa Hannig, SynLimb-DJ und Professor Bertolt Meyer und weitere Gäste aus Forschung, Kultur, Gesellschaft und Medien zusammen. Mensch, Maschine, Miteinander – das ist nicht nur der Titel […]

Vortragsreihe “Ethik der Digitalisierung”

Die zunehmende Digitalisierung und insbesondere der Einzug KI-gestützter Technologien in den verschiedensten Bereichen unseres Lebens verändern unseren Alltag im Privaten nicht weniger als unser Zusammenleben in öffentlichen Räumen. Im Rahmen der Vortragsreihe wollen wir anhand ausgewählter Problemfelder verschiedene ethische Aspekte der zunehmenden Einführung digitaler Technologien diskutieren. Kolleg*innen, Studierende und alle anderen Interessierten sind herzlich eingeladen. […]

Ein Stipendium öffnet Türen

Den ersten Schritt in die Wissenschaft als berufliche Tätigkeit zu wagen, ist durchaus mit Herausforderungen verbunden und auch nicht immer klar vorgezeichnet. Für mich stand dennoch bereits während meines Bachelorstudiums fest, dass ich unbedingt versuchen möchte, diesen Weg zu bestreiten. Den ersten Anlauf nahm ich entsprechend frühzeitig und bewarb mich schon während meines letzten Master-Studiensemesters […]

Team

In order to address the yet unsolved challenges and to shape the coexistence of humans and machines in public spaces, it is necessary for a large number of disciplines, from psychology and engineering sciences to mathematics and computer science to the social sciences and humanities, to combine their strengths. Within the CRC Hybrid Societies more than 70 professors, doctoral candidates, postdocs, and supporting staff are working together.

Publications

Langer, A., Tran, B., & Gaedke, M. (2021). Extending a SKOS-based taxonomy catalog with collaborative features and an interface to provide terminologies to describe research data with interdisciplinary, semantic concepts. https://e-science-tage.virtual-venue.io/session/26/talk/39
Christian Pentzold, C., & Rothe, I. (2020). Science Busking, Recursivity, and Zones of Awkward Engagement in a Large-Scale Research Project on Embodied Digital Technology. https://mediaandparticipation.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/EASST-2020-print-program-abstracts-200825.pdf

Podcast

Epilogue – A new approach to human-machine interaction?

In five episodes, journalist and moderator Thibaud Schremser addressed various key topics of the Collaborative Research Center “Hybrid Societies.”. Now it is time for a résumé. In this episode Prof. Dr. Christian Pentzold, Principle Investigator of the public relations project within the CRC, and Matthias Fejes from the press office of the Chemnitz University of […]
listen

Mensch | ​Maschine | ​Miteinander

Hybride Gesellschaften:
Menschen interagieren mit verkörperten digitalen Technologien

In hybriden Gesellschaften teilen wir den öffentlichen Raum mit zunehmend autonom agierenden Technologien.

Deshalb erforschen wir: Was ist erforderlich, damit Menschen sich mit Robotern reibungslos koordinieren können?

Und wie muss Technik gestaltet sein, damit sie die Anforderungen daran erfüllt?

Prof. Georg Jahn

Damit die Interaktionen in hybriden Gesellschaften effektiv sind, müssen menschliche Fähigkeiten und das technologisch Machbare analysiert und in neuartiger Weise aufeinander abgestimmt werden.

Prof. Ulrike Thomas

Die Koordination mit unseren Mitmenschen gelingt relativ reibungslos.

Damit die Interaktionen in hybriden Gesellschaften effektiv sind und ähnlich reibungslos ablaufen, müssen menschliche Fähigkeiten und das technologisch Machbare analysiert und in neuartiger Weise aufeinander abgestimmt werden.

Die Erforschung hybrider Gesellschaften trägt also dazu bei, den Einsatz verkörperter digitaler Technologien in öffentlichen Räumen nach menschlichen Bedürfnissen und Fertigkeiten auszurichten und die dazu nötigen technologischen Innovationen voranzubringen.

Das Miteinander von Menschen und Maschinen gestalten

Autonome Fahrzeuge, ferngesteuerte und autonom agierende Roboter, Drohnen, intelligente Prothesen – alles Beispiele für verkörperte digitale Technologien. Diese haben immer mehr Funktionen und können zunehmend mehr Aufgaben übernehmen. Sie begegnen uns an immer mehr Orten und in verschiedenen Gestalten. Dabei treten sie mit Menschen in Interaktion und bilden so zusammen mit ihnen hybride Gesellschaften.

SHAPING THE INTERACTION BETWEEN PEOPLE AND MACHINES

Der Forschungsverbund Hybrid Societies untersucht, wie spontane Begegnungen zwischen Menschen und intelligenten Technologien in öffentlichen Räumen reibungslos gestaltet und flüssig koordiniert werden kann. Im Kern geht es darum zu bestimmen, was nötig ist, damit Menschen und Maschinen ihre Aktivitäten und Bewegungen vorausschauend aufeinander abstimmen können, wenn Sie sich z.B. in einem Park oder auf der Straße begegnen. Was ist erforderlich, damit Menschen sich beispielsweise mit Robotern, mit hochautomatisierten Fahrzeugen oder virtuellen Figuren genauso reibungslos koordinieren können wie mit Mitmenschen? Und wie muss Technik gestaltet werden, damit sie diese Anforderungen erfüllt? Die grundlegende wissenschaftliche Erforschung dieser Fragen ist wichtig, da wir in hybriden Gesellschaften öffentliche Räume mit zunehmend eigenständig handelnden Maschinen teilen.

 

Um die bisher ungelösten Herausforderungen anzugehen und das Miteinander von Menschen und Maschinen in öffentlichen Räumen zu gestalten, ist es notwendig, dass eine Vielzahl an Disziplinen, von Psychologie und Ingenieurwissenschaften über Mathematik und Informatik bis zu den Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften ihre Stärken zusammenführen. Der Forschungsverbund Hybrid Societies an der Technischen Universität Chemnitz wird in den Jahren 2020 bis 2023 von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft als Sonderforschungsbereich finanziert. Internationale Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler studieren hier die Bedingungen für gelingende Koordination zwischen Menschen und Maschinen in öffentlichen Räumen. Der Sonderforschungsbereich Hybrid Societies nimmt dabei vier Felder in den Blick: Sensomotorik, Künstliche Körper, Geteilte Umwelten und Intentionalität in hybriden Gesellschaften.

Events und Kommunikation

A research stay in corona times

The possibility to cooperate with people and institutions from all over the world has always fascinate me. When I joined the CRC, almost one year ago, I was so happy to hear that international collaborations are strongly recommended and supported. The University of Naples Federico II, invited me to join them during spring 2021 in […]

#Asimov2021. Eine Uni, ein Buch.

Die TU Chemnitz und der Sonderforschungsbereich „Hybrid Societies“ waren mit ihrer Projektidee „Chemnitz liest Asimov“ im Wettbewerb „Eine Uni – Ein Buch“ des Stifterverbandes erfolgreich – Das Gewinnerkonzept rund um Asimovs Werk „Ich, der Roboter“ soll noch im Sommersemester 2021 umgesetzt werden.

In all conscience. Or: When the refrigerator buys an orange juice

When we try to mechanize our society, create robots, program artificial intelligence as intelligently as possible and do all this in a way that humans will accept, the focus is primarily on scientific and psychological research. However, it should not be forgotten that people’s trust in a safe coexistence is not strengthened by a trustworthy […]

Team

Um die bisher ungelösten Herausforderungen anzugehen und das Miteinander von Menschen und Maschine zu gestalten, ist es notwendig, dass eine Vielzahl an Disziplinen, von Psychologie und Ingenieurwissenschaften über Mathematik und Informatik bis zu den Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften, ihre Stärken zusammenführen. Im SFB Hybrid Societies arbeiten mehr als 70 Professor/-innen, Promovierende, Postdocs, Verwaltungsangestellte und technische Angestellte aus allen acht Fakultäten der TUC zusammen.

Veröffentlichungen

Langer, A., Tran, B., & Gaedke, M. (2021). Extending a SKOS-based taxonomy catalog with collaborative features and an interface to provide terminologies to describe research data with interdisciplinary, semantic concepts. https://e-science-tage.virtual-venue.io/session/26/talk/39
Langer, A., Schmolke, L., & Gaedke, M. (2021). BIRD: Using Conversational User Interfaces to Provide Relevant Metadata for Interdisciplinary Research Dataset Publishing. https://e-science-tage.virtual-venue.io/session/36/talk/60
Christian Pentzold, C., & Rothe, I. (2020). Science Busking, Recursivity, and Zones of Awkward Engagement in a Large-Scale Research Project on Embodied Digital Technology. https://mediaandparticipation.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/EASST-2020-print-program-abstracts-200825.pdf

Podcast

Epilog – Miteinander von Mensch und Maschine neu gedacht?

In fünf Episoden näherte sich Redakteur und Moderator Thibaud Schremser verschiedenen Schwerpunktthemen des Sonderforschungsbereichs „Hybrid Societies“. Nun ist es Zeit für ein Fazit. Nachdem bereits im Teaser Prof. Dr. Christian Pentzold, Leiter des Projekts Öffentlichkeitsarbeit für den SFB, und Matthias Fejes von Pressestelle- und Crossmedia-Redaktion der TU Chemnitz in dieses Format einführten, werden sie nun […]
Anhören